Forever Lebanon Valley

This is how Lebanon County’s Legislative Races Look for Spring and Fall

We now have a clearer picture of the candidates who are seeking state legislative offices for Lebanon County and whose names will be on the May 17th primary ballot. All but one of those races are uncontested.

Following the Monday deadline to submit nominating petitions to the Pennsylvania Department of State, the local legislative contests shape up as follows:

In the 48th district state senate race, it’s a rematch featuring Republican incumbent Senator Chris Gebhard and democrat Calvin “Doc” Clements in the November general election.

This year was the first time that Senator Gebhard had to file nomination papers, as he told the Lebanon Valley Daily News last week:

Meanwhile, Doc Clements is no stranger to gathering signatures on nominating petitions, nor to facing Gebhard in elections.  He ran unsuccessfully against him last year in the special election for the 48th district State Senate seat.

In the now-open 101st district State House race, the impending retirement of Representative Frank Ryan means that Republican John Schlegel will face Democrat Catherine “Cavi” Miller in the fall. Both are running unopposed in their respective political parties.

In the 102nd District race, incumbent Representative Russ Diamond will be challenged by Democrat Laura Quick. Diamond is also seeking the GOP nomination in the Lt. Governor’s race.

Diamond told the Lebanon Valley Daily News that he’d likely drop out of one of the two races before the November general election:

Quick most recently ran for office, albeit unsuccessfully, for the Democratic nomination in the 9th Congressional District in 2020.

The new configuration in the 98th district now includes South Londonderry and South Annville Townships and Mount Greta Borough in Lebanon County and Conoy, East Donegal, West Donegal and Mount Joy Townships, plus Elizabethtown, Marietta and Mount Joy Boroughs in Lancaster County.

There are four Republicans seeking their party’s nomination in that race:  Faith Bucks of Lebanon County and Lu Ann Fahndrich, Logan Hoover and Thomas Jones of Lancaster County.

The lone Democrat in that race is Mark Temons of East Donegal Township, Lancaster County.