Forever Lebanon Valley

17 Republicans Step Forward to Fill Ames’ Seat

There are 17 Lebanon County Republicans who’ve stepped forward to assume the County Commission seat made vacant after the death of Commissioner Bill Ames on December 28th.

The lone female on the list is Natalie Redcay.

The men who applied are: Rick Barlow, Bill Bering, Shawn Carrig, Dave Dinunzio, John Grace, Tom Houtz, Mike Kuhn, John Schlegel, Lee Spencer, Larry Stohler, Mike Wahmann, Dan Wright, David “Chip” Brightbill, Dave Warner, Jeff Steckbeck and Matt Shirk.

Sources tell the Lebanon Valley Daily News that President John Tylwalk has deemed John Grace ineligible because he was not a registered Republican at the time of the last County Commissioner election.

Lebanon County’s Court of Common Pleas judges will review the applications and schedule interviews, as warranted, before making a selection by vote.

The candidate selected will serve out the remainder of Ames’ term, which ends January 1st, 2024.